Visual Timeline: Samos

To navigate the timeline, click and drag it with your mouse, or click on the timeline overview on the bottom.

700 BCE 600 BCE 500 BCE 400 BCE 300 BCE 200 BCE 100 BCE  
700 BCE: Settlers from mainland Greece, possibly Samos, settle on Samothrace.
570 BCE - 560 BCE: A large temple is built and dedicated to Hera on Samos.
535 BCE - 522 BCE: Polycrates rules as tyrant of Samos.
525 BCE: Sparta and Corinth unsuccessfully attack Polycrates of Samos.
522 BCE: Persian satrap Oroetus takes Samos and the tyrant Polycrates is crucified.
520 BCE: A new temple is built and dedicated to Hera on Samos during the reign of Polycrates.
494 BCE: Samos is defeated at the battle of Lade.
478 BCE: Samos becomes a member of the Delian League.
440 BCE: Pericles leads the Athenian navy in the seige against Samos
440 BCE: The Greek philosopher Melissus of Samos is active.
407 BCE: Athenian general Alcibiades makes his naval base on Samos.
405 BCE: Athens grants Athenian citizenship to the population of Samos.
366 BCE: Athens regains control of Samos from Sparta.
281 BCE: Samos comes under the control of the Ptolemies of Egypt.
270 BCE: Aristarchus of Samos proposes a heliocentric world view.
246 BCE: A Ptolemaic fleet uses Samos as a permanent base.
205 BCE: Philip V of Macedon take Samos.
197 BCE: Samos comes under the jurisdiction of Rhodes.
188 BCE: Rome gives Samos its independence.
129 BCE: Samos becomes part of the Roman province of Asia.
39 BCE: Mark Antony sacks Samos.
700 BCE 600 BCE 500 BCE 400 BCE 300 BCE 200 BCE 100 BCE