Visual Timeline: Portuguese Angola

To navigate the timeline, click and drag it with your mouse, or click on the timeline overview on the bottom.

1570 CE 1580 CE 1590 CE 1600 CE 1610 CE 1620 CE 1630 CE 1640 CE 1650 CE 1660 CE 1670 CE 1680 CE 1690 CE 1700 CE 1710 CE 1720 CE 1730 CE 1740 CE 1750 CE 1760 CE 1770 CE 1780 CE 1790 CE 1800 CE 1810 CE 1820 CE 1830 CE 1840 CE 1850 CE 1860 CE 1870 CE 1880 CE 1890 CE 1900 CE 1910 CE 1920 CE 1930 CE 1940 CE 1950 CE 1960 CE 1970 CE  
1571 CE: Foundation of the colony of Portuguese Angola.
1575 CE: The Crown appoints a governor of Portuguese Angola.
1576 CE: Luanda on the coast of Portuguese Angola is founded. It will be the capital and a major hub of the Atlantic slave trade.
1621 CE: The Portuguese, with help from the Jaga, force the king of Ndongo to flee his kingdom in Portuguese Angola.
1641 CE: A Dutch force takes over Luanda, capital of Portuguese Angola.
1648 CE: A military froce from Portuguese Brazil recaptures Luanda, the capital of Portuguese Angola, from Dutch control.
1665 CE: An alliance of Angolan tribes and the Portuguese defeat the Kingdom of Kongo at the Battle of Mbwila.
1670 CE: A Portuguese force is defeated by the Kingdom of Kongo at Soyo.
1676 CE: The first bishop is appointed at Luanda, capital of Portuguese Angola.
1683 CE: A peace treaty is agreed between the Portuguese and the Matamba kingdom in Portuguese Angola. This ends the Angolan Wars.
1853 CE: Brazil porhibits the importation of slaves, ending the slave trade from Portuguese Angola.
1902 CE - 1915 CE: A series of rebellions within Portuguese Angola are put down.
1951 CE: Angola becomes an Overseas Province of Portugal.
1975 CE: Angola gains independence from Portugal.
1570 CE 1650 CE 1730 CE 1810 CE 1890 CE