Visual Timeline: Alexandra David-Neel

To navigate the timeline, click and drag it with your mouse, or click on the timeline overview on the bottom.

1860 CE 1870 CE 1880 CE 1890 CE 1900 CE 1910 CE 1920 CE 1930 CE 1940 CE 1950 CE 1960 CE  
1868 CE - 1969 CE: Life of adventurer, writer, mystic, and world traveler Alexandra David-Néel.
1888 CE - 1890 CE: Alexandra David-Néel embraces theosophy, Buddhism, and Stoicism.
1891 CE: Alexandra David-Néel's first journey to India.
1895 CE: Alexandra David-Néel is an opera singer in Indochina (Vietnam).
1904 CE: Alexandra David-Néel marries Philip Néel.
1911 CE: Alexandra David-Néel leaves for the East alone.
1914 CE: Alexandra David-Néel meets Aphur Yongden, her adopted son and traveling companion.
1914 CE - 1917 CE: Alexandra David-Néel lives with Yongden in the Himalayas.
1917 CE: Alexandra David-Néel and Yongden explore Japan and Korea.
1918 CE - 1920 CE: Alexandra David-Néel and Yongden live at Kumbum Monastery, China, translating texts.
1923 CE - 1924 CE: Alexandra David-Néel and Yongden travel to Lhasa, Tibet; she becomes first European woman to enter Lhasa.
1925 CE: Alexandra David-Néel returns to France with Yongden.
1927 CE: Alexandra David-Néel publishes her famous My Journey to Lhasa.
1928 CE - 1936 CE: Alexandra David-Néel and Yongden live at Digne, France where she continues to write.
1937 CE - 1946 CE: Alexandra David-Néel and Yongden return to the east and live in China.
1946 CE: Alexandra David-Néel returns to France.
1955 CE: Alexandra David-Néel's adopted son Yongden dies.
1959 CE: Marie-Madeleine Peyronnet becomes Alexandra David-Néel's housekeeper and companion.
1968 CE: World leaders, authors, and others celebrate Alexandra David-Néel's 100th birthday.
1969 CE: Alexandra David-Néel dies of natural causes at her home in Digne, France.
1860 CE 1880 CE 1900 CE 1920 CE 1940 CE 1960 CE